Your questions answered. More to come as the season approaches.

What is the PWHL?

The Professional Women’s Hockey League, or PWHL, is a first-of-its-kind women’s hockey league that brings together the best players in the world.

Where are teams located?

There will be 6 PWHL teams, located in the following locations:

  1. Boston
  2. Minnesota
  3. Montreal
  4. New York
  5. Ottawa
  6. Toronto
How are teams selected?

A 15-round draft will take place on September 18. More draft details to follow.

A free-agency signing period will occur prior to the draft in which teams may sign up to 3 players.

Where can I purchase tickets to PWHL games?

Tickets are not yet available, but you can sign up here to get updates!

When does the PWHL season begin?

The puck will drop in January 2024. The regular season, which is anticipated to end in June 2024, will be followed by a playoffs and final format. The schedule and playoff details will be available at a later date.

How can I follow the PWHL?

The official website of the PWHL is thePWHL.com. On social media, you can follow the PWHL on Facebook, X, Instagram, and TikTok.

Who governs the PWHL?

The Board, which includes Billie Jean King, Ilana Kloss, Stan Kasten, and Royce Cohen is the ruling and governing body of the Professional Women’s Hockey League.

How many players are on a PWHL team roster?

Each PWHL team includes 23 active roster spots.

Where can I read the CBA?

You can read a the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the Professional Women’s Hockey League and the Professional Women’s Hockey League Players Association here. A version of this document will be available to read on the Players Association website in the near future.